top of page
  • Writer's pictureanCke

Songs to dance to in your kitchen



 

I think society’s lost touch with what’s really important.


For the last couple of weeks, I’ve become frustrated and annoyed every time I go to sit and write about a song.


I’ve come to realise that almost every song I want to share with you, is either about insecurities, heartbreak or how messed up society’s expectations are. Songs like “Jealousy, Jealousy” by Olivia Rodrigo, “Make a Move” by Lawrence and “Follow Your Arrow” by Kacey Musgraves are all songs I would have wanted to write about a few months ago. But today as I sit here, these songs make me want to scream.


Now don’t get me wrong: there is a time and a place for every song that exists. But…every time I attempt to write a blog post about these songs, a thought keeps popping up: What went wrong that we ended up like this? What happened that pushed us into only singing about everything we want to complain about or love?


We spend the majority of our days out there in the scary, wild world. And when we’re not out and about meeting people and hopping from location to location, we are in the digital world known as social media. Regardless of which world you are living in, at any given moment, you are exposed to these complaints and statements.


I don’t know about you but writing about it is enough to drain me.


So, what do you do when you feel drained/stressed/confused etc.?


My advice: dance it out.


In order to make the most out of my dance party every day in my kitchen, I compiled a playlist with some of the best songs to dance to. I’m going to share them with you.


This playlist has songs you can scream and shout to. This playlist has songs you know every word to. This playlist has songs that will make you forget about the issues we face daily in both the real world and digital world.


Top 15 songs to listen when dancing in your kitchen:

1. Material Girl by Madonna

2. So What by P!nk

3. I Gotta Feeling by Black Eyed Peas

4. Kiwi by Harry Styles

5. Everybody Talks by Neon Trees

6. Good as Hell by Lizzo

7. Wannabe by Spice Girls

8. Misery Business by Paramore

9. I will Survive by Gloria Gaynor

10. Walking on Sunshine by Katrina and the Waves

11. Titanium by Sia

12. Low by Flo Rida, T-Pain

13. Hey Ya by Outcast

14. Hey, Soul Sister by Train

15. Single Ladies by Beyoncé


So, dear reader, next time you feel overwhelmed or frustrated like I feel now, I dare you to put on this playlist and dance it out.


It really works.




P.S.

Feel free to edit and change this playlist till it fits your dancing desires.


To listen to this playlist, click here.

20 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page