top of page
  • Writer's pictureanCke

"All the Way", Katharine McPhee

Updated: Jun 6, 2021




"Who knows where the road will lead us. Only a fool would say. But if you'll let me love you, It's for sure I'm gonna love you all the way"

"All the Way", Album: i fall in love too easily (2017)


 

This Time It All Started With…

me washing dishes whilst listening to the “Jazzy Romance” playlist on Spotify (to listen, click here). I usually would prefer to listen to a more upbeat playlist but that day I needed some jazz.


Enter: Katharine McPhee and her “buttery” voice.


This song has been sung by various artists over the years (if I had to name a few: Frank Sinatra, Celine Dion and Billie Holiday) but I don’t recall those recordings having a similar effect on me like this recording.


Now it might be because I was washing dishes and had time to focus...or just be dramatic and pretend I am in a movie...but for the first time in a very long time, Katharine McPhee’s version of “All the Way” made me stop and listen.


The song features on Katharine’s first jazz album and I usually only listen to two songs on repeat: “I Fall in Love Too Easily” and “Blame It on My Youth” (worth taking a listen to!).


The song starts off with a gentle piano melody that almost mimics what she’s about to sing. And then enters her soft, soothing voice…telling a story of the feeling you’ll feel when somebody really loves you.


One thing that I absolutely love about her voice is that she has so much control over how light she wants to sing. For example, during the first part of this song her voice is as soft as a cloud…almost as if she’s trying to not wake someone up.


Her gentleness can be heard throughout this album.


But she can bring it when she needs to.


After a small solo section, as this song progresses and as the love story progresses, she starts using more of her voice. Showing the listener that she has the power and the strength.


It’s almost as if she is indicating the climax of the song by using her full “belting” tone.


The lyrics of this song tells a story. A story about how it feels when somebody loves you. A story about all or nothing.


So I dare you, dear reader. Send your kids to bed. Turn off your Netflix series. Grab your headphones. And listen to the love she sings off.



To listen to this song, click here.


Lyrics


When somebody loves you It's no good unless he loves you all the way Happy to be near you When you need someone to cheer you all the way


Taller than the tallest tree is That's how it's got to feel Deeper than the deep blue sea is That's how deep it goes if it's real


When somebody needs you It's no good unless he needs you all the way Through the good and leap years And for all the in-between years, come what may


Who knows where the road will lead us Only a fool would say But if you'll let me love you It's for sure I'm gonna love you all the way All the way


La-da-da-da-da La-da-da-da-da


And when somebody needs you It's no good unless he needs you all the way Through the good and leap years And for all the in-between years, come what may


Who knows where the road will lead us Only a fool would say But if you'll let me love you It's for sure I'm gonna love you all the way All, all the way




18 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page