top of page
  • Writer's pictureanCke

"Freckles", Lawrence

Updated: Jun 6, 2021




“One, two, three, you know you’re beautiful”

“Freckles” by Lawrence

Released as a single


 

This Time It All Started With…

a Reel by @lawrencetheband on Instagram. Lawrence (the band) released a song called “Freckles”, early 2020. I discovered it via their Instagram account and I just HAD to click on the link to listen to the song!


Enter my new favourite song. A self-love anthem. Written, produced and performed by a brother-sister duo: Clyde and Gracie Lawrence.


I have been going back and forth on how to approach this or if I should address it at all because it is such a controversial topic. But with the new year finally here, I have decided to push aside all the doubts and opinions that keep holding me back. So here we go. I hope you are buckled up.


“My TV said, "Make your eyebrows thin" I pulled them all out Now thick's back in I can't win I'm overly critical, so sick of typical me”


How many times have you looked at yourself in the mirror and thought “I’d really like to change [insert “flaw”]” or “If only I had [insert feature] like [insert celebrity/friend’s name]”?


How many times did you actually change your appearance/hair colour/style because of a comment made by someone you know or because of the thought of what people would say?


Personally, I have physically changed my appearance because of something that a friend said (my hair colour) or because of a trend that was going around on social media (my eyebrows). And there were times when I definitely have not gone through with a change because I was afraid of what people would say. You should not have to “be whatever they want to see”. Change your hair colour because you want to. Hide your freckles because you want to (but also don't, because I love your freckles and so should you!). Embrace your beauty!


This song embodies the pressure we can feel from society and other people’s opinions about OUR bodies. So much so, that we start becoming “overly critical” of ourselves and lose the unique features that makes us, US.


Lead singer, Gracie Lawrence, sings about all her qualities she would like to change or wish was different because of what she saw on TV. One line that keeps coming back is “I’m overly critical, so sick of typical me”. Why are we being “taught” that our “typical selves” are ugly?


Mid-December 2020, Ashley Tisdale wrote in her blog, Frenche, about body shaming (to read the blog post, click here). She discussed how body shaming has now become almost a trend on the social media platforms and in our daily lives. We have become so accustomed to it that we take part in it without realizing. This adds to this idea of changing everything about our appearance to suite the opinion of someone else’s idea of beauty. We are so quick to judge and critique someone on their appearance that we don’t take a moment to think how they would feel about the comment.


I personally have “body shamed” someone before. Not at all with the intention to be mean or hurt their feelings but it almost came out as if it is a second nature. These days our first instinct is to comment on someone’s weight or clothing or their make-up. This is not okay.


I have been making a conscious effort to stop such thoughts.


If you feel the need to comment on how someone’s body shape or size is “not ideal” for a mini-skirt or crop top, keep quite. Keep your thoughts to yourself. Perhaps that girl had to go through a lot of mental hoops before she felt confident enough to wear something like that. And the same applies to men's bodies.


“Our bodies are meant to be different. I repeat- our bodies are meant to be different” (Ashley Tisdale, 2020).


“Freckles” is a song that addresses this topic. A topic we’re all afraid to discuss but partake in so frequently.


Wear that baggy shirt because you feel comfortable - not because you feel like you need to hide your bloated stomach because media promotes a flat stomach. Wear that mini skirt because you think you look gorgeous in it - not because you want to attract someone’s attention or compliments. Colour your hair bright pink because you feel confident and cool that way.


Don’t put on make-up to hide your scars because magazines say scars are ugly. Don’t wear a full costume because you are afraid of what four strangers are going to comment behind your back at the pool. You know you’re beautiful!


I dare you to make this year the year where you embrace your flaws, embrace what makes you unique and stop worrying about someone else’s opinion about YOUR appearance. You have to feel confident in what you are wearing/your hair colour/the amount of make-up etc.


And to those of you, who like me, sometimes let a mean comment or critique about someone else’s appearance slip, I dare you to try and change that critique into something positive.



To listen to this song, click here.


Lyrics

I think my face in the morning's rough Did I wear braces for long enough? It sucks I'm overly critical, so sick of typical me My TV said, "Make your eyebrows thin" I pulled them all out Now thick's back in I can't win I'm overly critical, so sick of typical me I hide the freckles above my knee I'll be whatever they want to see But then I tell myself You You're kinda looking like a stranger Why would you ever want to change your... Your freckles (You know you're beautiful!) You Why would you listen to the loser Why would you ever want to lose your... Your frеckles (You know you're beautiful!)

Yup, got full blown acnе at twenty-two My year's been dope, thanks And how 'bout you? (Woohoo) I'm overly critical, so sick of typical me I hide the freckles above my knee 'Cause I'll be whatever they want to see But then I tell myself You You're kinda looking like a stranger Why would you ever want to change your... Your freckles (You know you're beautiful!) You Why would you listen to the loser Why would you ever want to lose your... Your freckles (You know you're beautiful!) You know you're beautiful You know you're beautiful You know you're beautiful

You (Yeah, you) You're kinda looking like a stranger (You're kinda looking like a stranger) Why would you ever want to change your... Your freckles (You know you're beautiful!) You Why would you listen to the loser Why would you ever want to lose your... Your freckles (You know you're beautiful!)


45 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page