top of page
  • Writer's pictureanCke

"Liefde uit Stellenbosch", Laurika Rauch

Updated: Jun 6, 2021






Want ek steek vir jou ‘n kers op in Oudtshoorn en ek neem foto’s van Potchefstroom ek stuur vir jou ‘n duif uit die Knysnabos en al my liefde – hier uit – Stellenbosch”

"Liefde uit Stellenbosch" by Laurika Rauch


 

This Time It All Started With…

a drive to the Hennops Hiking Trail with my family. On our way, my mother started playing one of Laurika Rauch’s albums.


Her music wasn’t unknown to me. I grew up in a household where we listened to Laurika Rauch, Amanda Strydom, Coenie de Villiers etc. on repeat.


But for the first time, we listened to the lyrics of each song.


This song immediately caught my attention because of its title. At this stage in time, we had already started the process of me moving down to Stellenbosch (oh yes, I forgot to tell you: I’m moving down to Stellenbosch!) but we were just waiting for communication from the university.


I finally got the “OK” from the varsity! Back to the song…


The song starts off with a piano melody. To me, this type of introduction is such a trademark of musicians from that period. It might be because of the small music community back then or it could just be my over-analyzing-brain looking for detail that’s not there. You decide.


This is such a nostalgic piece of music…


From the title, one would assume the story of the song will be situated around Stellenbosch. The story does start in Stellenbosch, Dorp Straat to be exact, but Mrs Rauch takes us on a journey all over the world.


The listener follows the love interest from Stellenbosch and pops over to places like Koelbaai, Knysna and Cape Town during the first verse.


During the chorus, the listener joins the love interest and travels overseas to Washington, London and Belgium (socially distanced and with a mask, of course).


But not only are they traveling, they are also leaving small treasures here and there for their loved ones back in South Africa: lighting a candle in Washington, taking photos in London and sending a postcard from Belgium.


I love listening to this song because I get to travel through the world with her and I get to picture the relationship between these two people.


Are they lovers? Brother and sister? Best friends?


That’s what I love about some songs: you get to create this image in your mind of these characters and what their lives are like.


You get to escape for 3-4 minutes and enjoy some imaginary bliss!


To listen to this song, click here.


Lyrics


Die aand in Dorpstraat het jy vir my gesê daar is soveel meer wat jy uit die lewe wil hê en die aand by Koeëlbaai het jy vir my vertel die lewe hier is soms, soms erger as die hel

Die aand in Knysna het jy vir my gesê ons tye saam is al wat ons nou het en die aand in Kaapstad het jy vir my gevra hoe ver, hoe ver, kan die see liefde dra…

Refrein: So steek vir my ‘n kers op in Washington en neem foto’s van Londen stuur ‘n duif uit Italië en dalk ‘n poskaart uit België

Daardie aand in Kaapstad het ek toe weer gedink hoe gou het ons liefde in die diep see verdrink en die aand in Dorpstraat het ek vir myself gesê daar is soveel meer wat ek nog van jou wou hê

Refrein Want ek steek vir jou ‘n kers op in Oudtshoorn en ek neem foto’s van Potchefstroom ek stuur vir jou ‘n duif uit die Knysnabos en al my liefde – hier uit – Stellenbosch


43 views1 comment

1 commentaire


Ilse Coetsee
Ilse Coetsee
06 avr. 2021

So so mooi geskryf!

J'aime
bottom of page